Perinatal Mental Health (PMH): we, as HCPs, must revisit our approach to care..

It’s brilliant that a consultant obstetrician is advocating so clearly for simple and effective ways of changing how health care professionals treat mums and families in the field of perinatal mental health in a more positive way.

Mums & Mind

It was an honour and privilege for me to attend the #PNDandMeet event (23/01/2016) as a part of the #PNDHour second birthday celebration.

I felt proud to meet mums who overcame all the hurdles with great human spirit and courage. Moreover they never gave up. Their real life stories were truly inspirational.

However as a senior clinician in the NHS, I had a sense of guilt after attending the event. I seriously felt that with adherence to some basic principles of care, we could have prevented these mums from going through such traumatic experiences of life.

Therefore I thought I would write this blog to discuss what I learned that day as a Consultant Obstetrician and the Lead of the PMH service.

I would like to summarise my thoughts as follows:

Listening into action

One common and recurrent theme was:  HCPs often did not listen to the concerns of the mums.

I think…

View original post 1,183 more words

One thought on “Perinatal Mental Health (PMH): we, as HCPs, must revisit our approach to care..

Leave a Reply

