Watching Inside Out has turned my thoughts upside down.

image

Watching Inside Out has turned my thoughts upside down

I have not been feeling so great emotionally these past few weeks

So on a gloomy half term day and with to be honest an emotional morning behind me, me and my girls began our afternoon. After a bit of homework to counterbalance the CBeebies TV fest we some snacks and got cosy on the sofa to watch a film.

Inside Out, I had heard a mixture of reviews about this but decided as I am currently in a vulnerable emotional state and I’m getting the idea that my eldest is too and my youngest is picking up on both of our sensitivities then it might be a good film for us all to watch.

Here’s the plot summary from Pixar;

Growing up can be a bumpy road, and it’s no exception for Riley, who is uprooted from her Midwest life when her father starts a new job in San Francisco. Like all of us, Riley is guided by her emotions – Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness. The emotions live in Headquarters, the control center inside Riley’s mind, where they help advise her through everyday life. As Riley and her emotions struggle to adjust to a new life in San Francisco, turmoil ensues in Headquarters. Although Joy, Riley’s main and most important emotion, tries to keep things positive, the emotions conflict on how best to navigate a new city, house and school.

– Pixar

Although the story centres around a girl and her emotions, the Emotion characters in the film are adult and its was easy to relate to them. Joy; wants everything and every memory to be happy and if Sadness even touches a memory ball then it is almost tainted with sadness. Fear sees the worst possible scenario and is like the ultimate health and safety officer whilst Disgust is the epitome of a surly teenager “whatever”. Anger is as you would expect; angry and when he gets really angry his head tends to catch fire!

As expected the detail of the film tended to go over my four year olds head but my six year old was totally entranced. Not to give any of the plot away, but the moral of the story is that for a human being with all its complex emotions they need all the emotions working together and in particular to know joy you need to have experienced sadness and vice versa.

It was a thought provoking film which my eldest still refers to, in particular the Joy, Sadness and Anger characters. It’s interesting that I’m still thinking about the film and actually want to watch it again without the children so I can take it all in again. Yet my husband and other friends who haven’t experienced depression felt that the film was anything from okay and profound to a bit deep and an odd topic.

Whether it’s because I have a mind that overthinks things or can completely relate to the Joy, Sadness and Angry characters more, exactly like my daughter could be perhaps why I think this film is really important to watch both as a parent having experienced depression or as a parent to a emotionally sensitive child. It’s worth a watch.

 

2 thoughts on “Watching Inside Out has turned my thoughts upside down.

  1. I found this a challenging movie to watch as my brain was not in any way on the path to recovery when I viewed it. I think that it does have a lot to say about mental health and a lot that we can learn from it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

